Fellows of the Academy 

The Fellow Award is the most prestigious award given by the Academy. While other Academy awards honor members for outstanding achievement in a single area (e.g., teaching excellence, outstanding research, and distinguished service), the designation of Fellow is for a lifetime of achievement in the advancement of advertising scholarship, education, and service to the discipline. To see the fellows, click here. 

Ivan L. Preston Outstanding Contribution to Research Award

The Ivan L. Preston Outstanding Contribution to Research Award honors individuals who have made sustained and systematic contributions to advertising research. Nomination and selection are made through the AAA Research Committee. Recipients are honored with $1,000 and a plaque during the annual AAA Conference.


2016 Marla Royne Stafford

2015  Russ Laczniak 

2014  Don E. Schultz

2013  Ronald Faber

2012  Charles "Ray" Taylor

2010  Jef I. Richards

2009  Les Carlson   

2006  Darrel Muehling 

2004  George Zinkhan 

2003  Esther Thorson 

2002  Dean Krugman 

2001  Terry Shimp  

2000  Hugh M. Cannon, Herbert Jack Rotfeld 

1998  David W. Stewart 

1997  Barbara B. Stern 

1996  John D. Leckenby 

1995  Thomas E. Barry, James H. Leigh  

1994  Roland T. Rust  

1993  Leonard N. Reid 

1992  Ivan L. Preston 

1991  Jacob Jacoby 


Distinguished Service Award 

The Distinguished Service Award is given by the American Academy of Advertising to individuals who have rendered distinguished service to the organization and/or advertising education. The person should be a champion of advertising education, active in providing opportunities for the professional development of students and faculty and someone who unselfishly performs this meritorious service. One need not be a member of the AAA to be considered for this award.


Howard Bell
Sidney R. Bernstein
Mary Ellen Bowers
Richard Christian
Barton Cummings
James S. Fish
Jonah Gitlitz
O.Milton Gossett
Melvin S. Hattwick
Helen King
Robert L. King
William Marsteller

Pat Rose
William D. Wells
Gordon E. White


Billy I. Ross Advertising Education Award

The Billy I. Ross Advertising Education Award is to recognize innovative work that advances the field of advertising education. It is given to people who have completed projects or other innovative efforts in teaching. Examples of projects might include: innovations for teaching a new advertising course, published work about innovative class projects in advertising, published research that advances advertising education, support materials (such as visual aids) for conference presentations about advertising education, and dissemination of information to advertising educators that is helpful in the classroom.

2013  Jim Avery

2012  Gayle F. Kerr 

2009  Jami Fullerton and Alice Kendrick

2005  Thomas A. Bowers
2002  John H. Murphy, II 


Kim Rotzoll Award for Advertising Ethics and Social Responsibility

The Kim Rotzoll Award for Advertising Ethics and Social Responsibility was established in 2004 and recognizes individuals or organizations who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to advertising ethics and social responsibility. There must be evidence of lifetime achievement in either ethics or social responsibility. For an academic, such evidence may be in the form of scholarly publications and for an advertising practitioner or organization the results of specific programs or activities that have had a positive impact on society would serve as evidence.

2013  Meme Drumwright

2010  Les Carlson

2009  Wally Snyder   

2007  Richard W. Pollay 

2006  Herbert Jack Rotfeld
2005  Ivan L. Preston
2004  Kim B. Rotzoll 


Charles H. Sandage Award for Teaching Excellence

The Charles H. Sandage Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes outstanding contributions to advertising teaching. Examples of excellence might include: performance of students as advertising (or business) professionals, performance of students as advertising (or other) teachers, case study development and publication, textbook publication, letters from past students, innovative course development, and innovative ex-class room teaching development.


2015 Karen King

2013 RonTaylor

2012 Debbie Wideroe  

2010 Don Jugenheimer   

2005 Edoardo Brioschi
2003 Elsie S. Hebert
2002 Kim B. Rotzoll
1997 Arnold M. Barban
1996 Charles H. Sandage


Mary Alice Shaver Promising Professor Award

The Mary Alice Shaver Promising Professor Award honors a junior faculty member who has demonstrated excellence and innovation in advertising teaching and research. The award is given to full-time faculty who have taught no more than four years and who are members of the American Academy of Advertising. The potential awardee must be nominated by a current AAA member.


2015 Sun Joo "Grace" Ahn

2014 Saleem Alhabash

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management